I Eat Change For Breakfast…

Is change such a bad thing? You hear people say “ugh, I hate change”, but I’m not sure I’m in their boat. I talked to my sister today, after our parents put their farm up for sale, and we discussed change. As sad as we are that our family farm is on the market, we’re both excited for my parents. It’s the end of an era, but the beginning of a new.

Derek and I have been uprooted several times in the last few years, each time to different communities. We’ve found ourselves complaining about the chaos of moving, and the inconvenience of starting anew each time. I think we just got caught up in how society thinks we should feel about change. Both of us enjoy the excitement of starting fresh, meeting new people, and just a plain ol’ change of scenery. The many moves have ironically mellowed us. We don’t get all worked up about things anymore.

The young one (Conner), looks at change like an adventure, and finds it exciting. He never complains about how he’ll miss his room, or the crawl space under the stairs. We all know that home is where you are all together, and not the house you live in. Sure, we miss the friends we make, but we live in a time of social networking and we make time for those who are important to us. As a kid, I moved around a few times. I don’t remember being sad about leaving the neighbourhood, or missing the tree I planted in the backyard. I was content knowing my family would still be there in the morning, no matter where we lived.

Derek and I have been through devastating careers changes.  Today, after a couple of years of career hell, he is happier than ever in a job he loves (have I mentioned how insanely proud of him I am?).  He leapt at a change he knew would better our lives, and worked hard to achieve his goal.

I feared how our oldest would react when our youngest was born. I feared the change from him having all the attention, to having to share me. Today he is a fabulous big brother, and loves the youngest one immensely. It was a hard change, but a good one. He is more independent now, has a great sense of family, and understands that we all need to work together to raise our family. 

When things seem to get “settled” around here, I find myself thinking “now what?”. Even a new coat of paint, or rearranging the furniture, I feel like things are fresh and different. We don’t get “stuck in a rut” because, when we feel it coming on, we change something.

Although I will be sad to see the family farm go, I know that the changes will be good for many people. A new family will move onto our farm, and make their own memories. My parents will have fresh, new land to tinker with. Our boys will have a new area to roam and discover.

So, although it’s been hectic at times, I’m glad we’ve made the changes we have. It wont be the things, homes, etc. we acquire in life, but the moments we’ve shared with our favorite people.

“Change is surrendering what you are, to what you could become”

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 09:07:34

    Sam, your a wonderful writer. (period)…there is no question that you have found your calling…between your artistic ability and your writing ability you will have no problem doing anything you come across.
    Very proud to call you my daughter-in-law. ❤

    Reply

  2. PostMuse
    Jun 05, 2010 @ 15:23:12

    I love change. Seriously. Unfortunately, I have little patience with those who don’t embrace change. Obviously, there are times when change is just plain wrong, and I recognize that, but most of the time, I eat the change for breakfast, too. Great line, by the way!

    Reply

    • samitysam
      Jun 05, 2010 @ 17:04:10

      Thanks for the compliment, and the comment! Embracing change makes even the most difficult changes seem a little easier. I agree, some changes are just wrong. I do believe that deciding when, and if, change is a good/bad thing is important in becoming an individual and knowing what is the right path for you. Keep in touch PostMuse, Ive added you to my blogroll..:)

      Reply

  3. Jana D
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 02:06:51

    If there were no change, there would be no butterflies.
    Not my quote, can’t remember who said it, but it holds true.
    Your post is very eloquent. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    Reply

  4. Cathy Parker/LADYHIGHTOWER
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 08:54:22

    Your way with words and feelings is awesome! Blessings!

    Reply

  5. BeverlyBling
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 09:49:10

    Love the quote Sam. I think life is change. Tomorrow we are never the same as yesterday….for one thing we’ve got older!
    I relate to your comment about moving mellowing. We have moved 9 times in the last 6 years and I just get on with it now. I’d like to think we’ll stay in this house but if we have to move…that’s life! regards, Beverly

    Reply

  6. sarala
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 05:34:35

    Glad you all are able to embrace the changes in your life.
    Here from the Check Out My Blog on Swap-Bot (skron11). Have a great summer.
    Sarala

    Reply

Leave a Reply

