The Survivors

We have tomatoes! And Lettuce! And Peas! Woohoo! We didn’t plant much of a garden this year, as we didn’t know how long we would be in this house, and we were kind of limited to what we could do, as we’re renting. Sure enough, we’re moving mid-summer, so it’s a good thing we’re not leaving a massive garden behind. Well, good for us, bad for new tenants – Haha!  I had started a few veggies indoors, but put them out too soon. Next year, they’re going right in the ground! From seed! Never will I start indoors again – too risky. Even though we’ll have a later crop, I would rather it then risk losing the whole lot. Anyway, we had some survivors, which I transferred into containers so they could make the move with us. A few peas, some lettuce, and a single hearty tomato plant. Not exactly the homesteading I long for, but I know our time is coming. I keep reminding myself that after the 30th, I’ll have my hands in some rich beautiful soil, and I can start plotting for next spring. I’m anxious to see whats looming in the new backyard – I know there is rhubarb and grapes. A good start in my books. For now, I will loving tend to my containers, and dream of my garden to be.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 14:15:43

    What an interesting blog you have! Growing my own veg is something I’d love to do, well done!

    Reply

  2. Jane
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 06:40:45

    Oops,didn’t say before that I’m your partner in Check out My Blog!(pennyblack) (o:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

